Have I ever told you ?

Dear ‘the one’ who’s probably stuck in a traffic jam,

Have I ever told you how much I love days like these?

When the stubborn sun accepts defeat and hides behind castles of cottony wool clouds and the sky just looks like a blue graveyard of fluffy warriors.

When you look up at the sky, it looks like the picture of a travel destination you wish so badly to have been to, but in reality, it’s only the tourist visiting your little world to see if there’s any peace beyond green pastures and snow capped mountains, and you gladly feel obliged to show that, there is.

Have I ever told you how much I love it when the winds blow fiercely? Some days, it’s the only way to let my lungs know how much they like the taste of air.
When the winds gently push me, I know that tripping on my own two feet is tougher than falling for someone’s false promises.

Have I ever told you how much I love it when it drizzles? I let my palm break through the barriers, so they know what mercy feels like.

Have I ever told you how much I love Spoken Word Poetry? The first time I heard Sarah Kay emote her piece with the silent power of a thunderstorm, I knew that I was destined to. And now, every poem written by these unknowing hands feels like a baby, trying to cry out words it doesn’t fully understand yet.

Have I ever told you how much I love it, when my parents push aside the stressing conversations about the college, to joke around with each other?

Have I ever told you how confused I feel when my cousins get married? I’m torn between feeling happy for them and being sad for myself because then, nothing will ever be the same. Have I ever told you much I miss the silly jokes and the carefree laughter? Have I ever told you how much I love laughing?

Have I ever told you how childishly ecstatic I get when I answer a question right? Some days, I feel the need to grow out of it, but most days, it is my substitute for caffeine.

Have I ever told you how much I wish people would put as much effort into being happy as they put into being sad?

Have I ever told you how much I wish people would look up and stare at the beauty that the sky is?

Have I ever told you that like the sky, life gets grey and cloudy once in a while too? But that’s only a warning sign that there’re rainy days ahead, with puddles of uncertainty and the smell of unpredictability, so you carry your umbrella with you and wait.

Wait till the rainbow appears.

With all the colors of pain, you thought existed. Only now, they morph into the hues of a plan that was specially set for you and the gift for your perseverance at the other side of the rainbow.

So what, if this sounds un-grown up-ish?

Have I ever told you I never intended to?

The day I do tell you this stuff, consider yourself special.

Leave a Reply

